Tags

I’m a runner, though this hasn’t always been the case. Had you told my high school self I would someday run a Marathon, I would have given you the side-stink eye double whammy (and so would my family and friends). I graduated from college five years ago and was twenty five pounds overweight. With my Dad getting re-married in Vegas just a few short months away, I started hitting the gym hard. I lost fifteen pounds by pounding away on the treadmill and elliptical. I was also mindful of what I ate but was more concerned about calorie counting than the nutritional value and benefits of what I was eating.

At my Dad’s wedding in Vegas, September 2006

Right around this time is when I met my (now) husband. His active lifestyle motivated me to continue to go to the gym and I kept losing weight. Over our year of dating and year of engagement I lost another 10 pounds and was the lightest (though not the healthiest) I’d ever been on our wedding day.

Our wedding, January 2009

Up until this point I had never actually run outside! The gym I worked out at had a Bootcamp  and this is where I fell in love with being active in the great outdoors. I seriously have only run on the dreadmill twice since! The husband and I would often go running together and he was much faster than me (he will protest that he still is but he’s full of crap confused). My new motivation was to try to keep up with him.

Workin’ it at Bootcamp in November 2009 (I’m in the white shorts)

A coworker/friend of mine, who is an awesome runner, told me I should try a race. So I signed up for my very first 5K in February 2010 and finished in 27:01. From then on I was hooked. Since that first race a little over a year ago I have completed 7 5Ks, 2 10Ks, 1 15K and 1 full Marathon.

After finishing the OBX Marathon, November 2010

I’m now the healthiest I’ve ever been and am currently training for my second full Marathon. My diet has changed so that I can fuel my body the right way and I’ve added in CrossFit to be stronger and more fit overall. I’ve come to realize that being thin does not equal being happy but that healthy equals happy. My motivation now is pure passion and love for the sport. My hope for this blog is to motivate even just one person to get out there and get healthy.

