I’ve had the urge to bake lately but have been resisting because of my training. Since I did really well on Friday’s CrossFit weigh-in and this was a holiday weekend, why not break out the stand mixer? Not to mention, I promised my co-workers that I would bake them cupcakes for the 4th of July, even though they wouldn’t be able to enjoy them until today. I decided on apple pie in cupcake form: apple cinnamon cupcakes with brown sugar swiss meringue buttercream. While swiss meringue is a bit more complicated to make, it’s by far my favorite frosting!

Apple Cinnamon Cupcakes (from hottoeatacupcake.net)

  • 1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 medium sized tart apples, peeled, cored, and chopped small (about 2 cups)

Combine the brown sugar, cinnamon, oil and vanilla in a large bowl. Add eggs one at a time beating well after each addition. In a separate bowl sift together the flour, baking powder and salt.

Add in the dry ingredients to the wet a little at a time. Then stir in your apples.

My mixture was thicker than a traditional cake batter so I suspected that mine would turn out a bit muffin-ish.

Fill your cupcake-liners 1/2 to 3/4 full, I did about halfway.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes (or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean). Mine took 20 minutes on the dot. Let cool in the pan.

As I suspected they were a bit more muffin than cupcake but still delish!

Brown Sugar Swiss Meringue Butter-Cream (from hottoeatacupcake.net)

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 4 large egg whites
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter (room temperature)

Combine the brown sugar, salt and egg whites in a double boiler over simmering water (I usually have the burner set to medium-high then turn it down to medium ½ way through).

Stir with a whisk constantly until the egg mixture is warm (reaches 160 degrees) and the sugar has dissolved. This usually takes about 7 minutes.

Top # is measured temp

Transfer the warm egg mixture to your stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Crank the speed up to high (I lock the stand too just in case).

I love my Kitchenaid (thanks Dad-in-Law!)

Beat the egg mixture until it forms stiff, but not dry, peaks and continue beating until cooled (I check the outside of the bowl) and fluffy.  This will take another 7 minutes)

Switch over to the paddle attachment and add in the butter 2 tbsp at a time on medium-low speed, mixing well after each addition. Now don’t panic, your frosting will get a little bit runny for a minute while you’re adding in the butter. Increase the speed to medium-high for about 3 minutes; your frosting will thicken up. Decrease the speed to low for about a minute to get out the air bubbles. Now taste test and frost your cupcakes!

I highly recommend you check out How To Eat A Cupcake! She has drop down menus in the right sidebar of all her recipes. You can pick whatever you want to make and create your own combinations! This site is the first one I check out when I’m thinking about making cupcakes!

