Tags

, , , ,

Hmm, I should maybe try getting a little more creative with these weekly recap titles huh? Heh, anyway… So this week again didn’t go as planned but I’m quickly learning that being flexible is key here. My biggest concern this week was a possible overuse injury in my right knee. Luckily it seems I’ve dodged that bullet since my 14 mile run on Sunday went just fine and I ran pain-free. I plan to take modifications in CrossFit for all of week 8 just to be sure. Broken down by day:

Monday: Planned- CrossFit. Actual- CrossFit. This WOD was chest heavy. We worked with partners and mine was awesome! Her strength complimented my endurance and we had an awesome workout.

Tuesday: Planned- 4 miles easy. Actual- 4 miles easy. Not much to report here, just a typical recovery run.

Wednesday: Planned- 7 miles pace. Actual- 7 miles pace. This was a pretty normal run. I didn’t get down to pace until mile 2 but after that it was smooth sailing.

Thursday: Planned- 4 miles easy + CrossFit. Actual- CrossFit. I snoozed myself out of being able to get in a morning run. Then the evening WOD at CrossFit was insane! It was a total body killer. I think the step-ups (w/ 2 20lb weights) that we did near the end was what did my right knee in. I was hobbling afterwards (though I didn’t feel pain during) and was very concerned about my knee. I iced both knees that night. On a brighter (side) note, I made a pretty amazing salad as a side for dinner and thought I’d share:

In the bowl is baby spinach, tomato, red onion, chopped baby carrots, avocado and McCormick’s Salad Topper. I put Light 3-Cheese Ranch on top and it was the perfect pairing with the avocado. Delish!

Friday: Planned- CrossFit. Actual- CrossFit. This was an arm heavy WOD with a partner. I took a modification for the box jumps to take some pressure off my knee. I was planning to run after work until I got in my car and saw this:

No thanks, I’ll pass!

I went to Panera Bread for lunch with a coworker and the evil lady at the register talked me into 6 bagels for $5.99. I guess it wasn’t that hard to do… πŸ™‚

In the bag are 2 Cinnamon Crunch, 2 Chocolate Chip and 2 French Toast. I put the Cinnamon Crunch in the fridge and then froze the others. We don’t eat bagels often but I thought we could have one once a week as a treat! πŸ˜€

Saturday: Planned- rest. Actual- rest. I iced both knees a few times throughout the day to make sure I would be ready for my long run Sunday. I was very nervous things weren’t going to go well and even told the husband to have his phone handy just in case I needed a ride home.

Sunday: Planned- 14 miles. Actual- 14 miles! This run went very well! I had planned to take it super easy to make sure my knee would be ok but my legs surprised me with pacing pretty fast (for what I was aiming for). I pretty much zoned out with the help of some new music I downloaded last week and had a lot of fun with this run. I had mentioned to the husband the previous night that I was nervous about making it and that I would call him if I needed him. He always knows my route and what my intended pace is (safety first people!) and was able to check on me 3 times during my run! I was more than thrilled to see him and enthusiastically gave him a thumbs up every time. Let’s take a look at the splits shall we?

Mile 1- 11:21

Mile 2- 10:57

Mile 3- 10:58

Mile 4- 10:36

Mile 5- 10:38

Mile 6- 12:50 (Water, G2 and Powerbar Energy Chew break)

Mile 7- 10:49

Mile 8- 10:38

Mile 9-10:34

Mile 10-10:28

Mile 11-12:48 (Another water, G2 and Powerbar Energy Chew break)

Mile 12- 10:21

Mile 13- 10:59

Mile 14-10:04

Other stats: Total Time- 2:34:10, Avg Pace- 11:01 min/mile, Avg HR- 157bpm, Max HR- 180bpm.

Some pictures from the run:

A pretty crappy picture but my surroundings reminded me of Jurassic Park (minus the dinosaurs).

See the sprinklers in the distance? Those had just come on and they were the moving kind! So I had to dodge them like Indiana Jones dodging booby-traps in his quest for the Holy Grail!

Β Heh, this makes me feel a lot better about running around these parts.

Post run recovery was a banana, a Cinnamon Crunch bagel from Panera Bread with peanut butter on one half and Brummel & Brown on the other half, coffee and water. I completely forgot to drink my Hammer Recoverite! I guess I was just super excited for my bagel. πŸ™‚

Tonight I’m making Pepper, Asparagus and Bacon Pizza for dinner and I’ll post that recipe tomorrow! For now I leave you with the cutest kitty in the world:

Don’t you just wanna snuggle her?

