Tags

, ,

This is a Motivational Miles original folks! Of course it’s just pizza, so it didn’t take a rocket scientist to figure it out. I knew what I wanted for toppings and only had to do some googling to determine the optimum oven temperature and subsequent baking time. While the resulting pizza was delicious and earned the husband’s seal of approval, it was definitely a learning process. I’ll share the recipe as I made it last night and at the end I’ll tell you what I plan to change in the future.

It looks nasty but I promise it tasted amazing!

Pepper, Asparagus and Bacon Pizza

Ingredients:

  • Pizza Dough (I used Publix)
  • 1 yellow pepper
  • 1 red pepper (I actually only used 1/3 of each pepper)
  • 5 slices of bacon
  • 4 oz Asparagus Spears
  • Emerill’s Homestyle Marinara Sauce
  • 8 oz Mozzarella Cheese
  • Olive Oil, for brushing
Directions:
If you’re using a store-bought dough make sure to read the instructions on the package. I used Publix dough and had to remove it from the fridge an hour beforehand. Put your pizza stone in the oven and preheat for at least 30 minutes at 500°. While that is preheating, prepare your toppings:
    •  Cut the peppers into thin slices.
    • Chop off the woody ends of the asparagus spears and then chop into 1/2″ pieces.
    • Cook the bacon either on the stove or in the mocrowave and remove excess grease. Rip into small pieces (about 1″)
    • Cut the cheese (hah!) into thin slices.

The entire arsenal, all ready to go!

Roll out your dough on a well-floured mobile surface, like a cookie sheet. I rolled mine out to a 12″ circle. I read recommendations on the interwebz about using a lot of cornmeal on the bottom. You want the dough to be able to slide around so you can easily transfer it to your pizza stone, this becomes more difficult with the heavy toppings. I also read that a pizza peel will likely make the entire pizza + pizza stone process a million times easier. (I plan to pick up one of those bad boys when we get another B3 coupon!) Brush the top of the dough with olive oil.

Spread your sauce* and layer your cheese. Then add your desired amount of toppings. Transfer your assembled pizza to the pizza stone.** Bake at 500° for 12 minutes or until crust is lightly browned and cheese is melty. (Mine only took about 10 minutes but my oven tends to be hot.)

Remove pizza from oven and let cool before cutting and serving.

*Upon completion of the pizza I discovered that the sauce I used wasn’t quite thick enough and even got a little runny when it cooked. A co-worker recommended mixing the sauce with a little tomato paste to thicken it up.

**My pizza was not budging off the cookie sheet once all the toppings were on. I hadn’t made sure it was properly floured and corn-mealed beforehand and we didn’t have a pizza peel. So I finally got frustrated/hungry enough and threw the cookie sheet on top of the pizza stone. The pizza still tasted delicious but didn’t have that crispy bottom the pizza stone provides. Once the pizza was cooked it slid off the sheet just fine though!

While errors in the kitchen can be frustrating, the whole cooking/baking process is still a lot of fun. One of the things I’m loving about blogging is that it motivates me to try new recipes so that I can then share them with all you fine people!

