This weekend turned out to be 3-days and it came at a very needed time.

Monday morning I got a phone call that I was expecting, with news I was not. You see, about a month ago I found a lump in my left breast. I called the husband, who had just left for work, and had him come home to feel it. It turned out I wasn’t crazy, there was definitely something there. I called my OB/GYN’s office when they opened and was told that since I had just started my period to just monitor it for 2 weeks and call back if it doesn’t go away by then.

Well… two weeks later, it was still there. So they brought me in for an exam and confirmed that yes, there was a lump there. I was sent for an ultrasound a few days later and a few days after that the PA’s nurse called me. Her news: the lump isn’t a cyst like they expected, but a solid mass. And there are 2. The PA thinks they are benign fibroadenomas but wants me to see a surgeon for another opinion. I was so shell-shocked I didn’t ask any questions. I know that the surgeon will be able to answer my questions but in the mean time my imagination is running wild!

After calling the husband and my Mom I Googled the crap out of the diagnosis. From PubMed Health:

  • Fibroadenoma of the breast is a noncancerous (benign) tumor.
  • Fibroadenoma is the most common benign tumor of the breast and the most common breast tumor in women under age 30.
  • A fibroadenoma is made up of breast gland tissue and tissue that helps support the breast gland tissue.

That article says a a core needle biopsy must be done to determine a definite diagnosis. As for whether the fibroadenomas need to be removed, it seems to be up to the MD and patient.

So needless to say this week has been very stressful. Neither the husband nor I have slept all that great and as a result my training schedule was again rearranged. (look for that in the weekly recap on Sunday) I have an appointment with the surgeon on Monday and the best Mommy in the whole world is coming with me. (yes, my Mommy)

With the husband at training today I decided to get a 2 hour deep tissue sports massage and get lunch with a friend to help keep my mind off of things. Then while out grocery shopping I picked up this bad boy:

I’ll let you know how it tastes! 😉

And to lift everyones spirits after this depressing post:

Baby Stella! (Sorry so small- any photo uploaded on my Macbook is small for some reason)

I had debated about blogging this and at first I wasn’t going to bother since I thought it would turn out to be nothing. The situation might be a little more serious now and my training (not to mention my life) will most likely be impacted. I’ll be sure to update after my appointment on Monday.

