Tags

, ,

The title has absolutely nothing to do with this post. That quote just makes me giggle every time I hear it. If you’re unaware, that is from Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls. My brother and I have entire conversations in Ace Ventura quotes.

Well I am exhausted ya’ll! Even though I just had a 4 day weekend (I was off Thursday and Friday), it didn’t feel very restful! I’m both dreading and excited for next week’s break from training. I know that physically it will do wonders for my body but mentally it will be very hard to not run or CrossFit at.all while I’m peaking in my Marathon training! Deep breaths. Let’s take a look at the week:

Monday- Planned: CrossFit. Actual: CrossFit. This was the day that I busted up my grill. That sucked, I’m such a wuss when it comes to anything dealing with my mouth.

Tuesday- Planned: 4 miles easy. Actual: 4 miles easy. I actually ran in the evening which I dislike this time of year not only because of the heat, but because of the bugs! I’m talking about those swarms of little bugs that stick to your sweat when you run through a cloud of them. Gross!

Wednesday- Planned: 8 miles pace. Actual: rest. No excuses here, I was just lazy.

Thursday- Planned: 4 miles easy + CrossFit. Actual:  8 miles pace + CrossFit. This was the big day at the surgeon’s office. I shifted my runs a bit and ended up running the 8 pace miles on the treadmill and followed that with an intense CrossFit session.

Friday- Planned: CrossFit. Actual: CrossFit + 4 miles easy.  We did a bicep and tricep focused CrossFit session and then ate our usual brunch at a local hole in the wall (aren’t those the best?). Afterwards we hit up Wal-Mart for the essentials. When we finally returned home, the husband got called into work so I changed to go fit in a run on the treadmill at the gym (that’s 3 runs on the treadmill in the past week!). I stopped at the library on the way and picked up these:

I’ve started on Jodi Picoult’s Sing You Home. I’m not sure how I feel about it yet.

Saturday: Planned- rest. Actual- rest. Husband and I had planned to head to the gym in the morning but I decided I should sit around on my lazy behind  rest instead. My favorite alternative to exercise? Gluttony of course!

Ok, so I wouldn’t classify frozen yogurt as gluttony but look at husband’s bowl (his is on the right)!! I don’t know where he puts it.

Sunday: Planned- 17 miles. Actual- 17 miles. I was dreading this run Saturday night. My quads were shredded from Thursday and Friday’s workouts and I was seriously wondering if I would actually accomplish this run. Not only did I finish this run but I finished it with mostly negative splits on the second half! (I’m going to try a new format to save on space- let me know if you hate it)

  1. 11:37 min/mile
  2. 11:16 min/mile
  3. 11:17 min/mile
  4. 11:19 min/mile
  5. 12:55 min/mile (fueling break)
  6. 11:16 min/mile
  7. 11:07 min/mile
  8. 10:51 min/mile
  9. 12: 44 min/mile (fueling break)
  10. 10:51 min/mile
  11. 10:58 min/mile
  12. 10:57 min/mile
  13. 13:00 min/mile (fueling break)
  14. 10:55 min/mile
  15. 10:44 min/mile
  16. 10.44 min/mile
  17. 10:38 min/mile

Other stats: Total time- 3:13:19, Average pace- 11:22 min/mile, Average HR- 154bpm, Max HR- 185bpm. 

After laying around reading my book and rehydrating for the vast majority of the day, I had the sudden craving for Mexican food. Specifically Margaritas. I somehow convinced the husband to ditch our plans of a healthy salmon dinner to go to dinner at our favorite Mexican restaurant (maybe because I offered to pay?).  Now this is what I call a recovery drink:

That my friends is the Ultimate Margarita: Sauza tequila, Cointreau, Grand Marnier and fresh lime juice. The husband also had a margarita but with blue curacao in it.

It was tasty but I like the tequila to be the shining star in my margarita.

Well that wraps up week 10! This next week is my last full week of training before the surgery! Gotta make every workout count!  

