Tags

, , , ,

I can’t believe I haven’t blogged in an entire week! Sorry for the silence ya’ll. Emma thinks you should forgive me:

You can’t say no to that face!

It’s been one of those crazy weeks and my training definitely reflected that. I have so many things I want to blog about including raspberry chocolate chip scones that I made this week, runner safety (I’m talking tactical), a trip to my in-law’s horse farm and a comparison between this marathon training cycle and the last. There’s also so many race recaps I want to write. Since I’ll be out of training for a week and going stir-crazy, I’m hoping that blogging will help keep me sane!

Let’s get right to the week 11 recap:

Monday- Planned: CrossFit. Actual: CrossFit. This workout was insane!! The very first thing was 1,000 meter row. The goal was to get in as many rounds in an hour and I ended up being the top performer for the day! Bam!

Tuesday- Planned: 5 miles easy. Actual: 2.8 mile run for my life. When I ventured out for this run after work it was cloudy and very windy. I thought it might rain but never expected the fury that Nature unleashed! I got 1.4 miles from the house when all of a sudden the skies opened up and it started to pour. Now I can handle some rain, enjoy it even, but accompanying that rain was intense thunder and lightning. I could literally see lightning bolts all around me. I never ran so fast in my life, I was actually scared I was going to get struck by lightning! I was pacing 7:30 miles the rest of the way home. It was nuts!

Wednesday- Planned: 8 miles easy. Actual: rest. I was a lazy and did nothing and had no excuses.

Thursday- Planned: 5 miles easy + CrossFit. Actual: CrossFit. The CrossFit session was leg heavy and ended with a 2,000 meter time trial. Husband has the top time of 8:19. My time was 9:34. I had been planning on going for a run after CrossFit, a sort of brick workout. Then the trainers invited a bunch of us to a local italian place. Vino won. πŸ˜‰

Friday- Planned: CrossFit. Actual: CrossFit + 8 miles easy. CrossFit was a total body workout and the run was uneventful.

Saturday- Planned: rest. Actual: lifting session at the gym. What I did:

  • 10 reps bench press @ 65lbs
  • 25 pull-ups
  • 5 reps bench press @ 75lbs
  • 20 dips
  • 25 pull-ups
  • 5 reps bench press @85lbs
  • 10 reps bench press @ 65 bs
  • 20 knee to elbow
  • 20 dips
  • 20 tricep pull down
  • 10 reps bicep curls @ 20lbs
  • 10 reps bicep curls @ 15lbs
  • 5 reps bicep curls @ 20lbs
  • 5 reps bicep curls @15lbs
  • 10 reps lat pull @ 70lbs
  • 5 reps lat pull @85lbs
  • 10 reps dumbell fly @20lbs
  • 20 knee to elbow
  • 10 pullups

Whew! That seems like a lot but husband and I were only there for an hour. Afterwards we headed up north to attend my Father-in-law’s 65th birthday party! I’ll be doing a full post about it but for now here’s a preview:

Sunday- Planned: 18 miles. Actual: 18 miles. I was worried this run wouldn’t happen. When I set out for the run around 530am there was a bunch of lightning. I ignored my first instinct to curl up into the fetal position and returned home instead. The radar didn’t show any storms so it was probably just heat lightning but I wasn’t taking any chances. I decided I’d head out around 6pm and do a night time run. The splits (I’ll probably remove most of these columns in the future as I think they are redundant):

The Heart Rate ‘splits’:

The heart rate graph is a bit hard to read but Zone 3 is where I like to keep my heart rate on long runs, between 140-160bpm. Given the higher temperature and the fact that I ran in the evening, it didn’t really surprise or worry me that my heart rate was a tad higher than what I would like. This is a good article on some factors that can affect your heart rate. Also, Peanut Butter Runner recently wrote a post that included a discussion of heart rate training.

My pacing felt pretty good during this run, I fueled after 4, 8, 12 and 15 miles. The run was humbling and definitely a reminder of just how hard running a marathon is. My legs were so sore, my last 2 miles I had to use all my mental games to keep moving. I finished strong though and I’ve been inspired to do a comparison between the longer runs from this training cycle and my previous training cycle.

Another week down! I probably won’t blog again until after my surgery, which is Wednesday. I know I’ll be just fine, ya’ll can’t get rid of me that easy! πŸ˜‰ See you on the other side!

