Tags

, ,

A few weeks ago I got the craving for homemade baked goods. I thought about making muffins but since I had never made scones before, I picked this amazing recipe from Annie’s Eats instead!

Raspberry Chocolate Chip Scones (from Annie’s Eats)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 6 tbsp unsalted butter, cold and cut into pieces
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
  • ¾ cup raspberries
  • ½ cup plain yogurt (I used Greek)
  • 1 ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • Another large egg (for egg wash)
  • 1 tbsp milk (for egg wash)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Blend the cold butter into the flour mixture with a pastry blender, this should look like coarse crumbs. Stir in the chocolate chips and raspberries (gently). In a small bowl, whisk together the yogurt, vanilla extract, and 1 egg. Add this wet mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just combined. (do not over mix.) *My dough was a bit wet, I think next time I’d add more flour since it was difficult to work with in this next step*

Gently knead the dough on a lightly floured surface four or five times. Form into a 7 inch diameter circle about 1.5 inches thick. Cut the dough into eight triangles and place the scones on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. *Since my scones were so sticky I cut them on top of the parchment paper because I knew moving them would be impossible. Also, my parchment paper smoked a bit in the oven so next time I’ll use my silicone baking mat*

Make an egg wash by beating the remaining egg and 1 tablespoon milk and brush the tops of the scones with this mixture.

Bake at 375° for 18 to 20 minutes. *mine took 25 minutes* Top should be golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the middle should come out clean.

Enjoy! 😀

